Board of Trustees

CIFOR operates under the authority of a legally constituted Board of Trustees, charged with overall responsibility for the work of the Centre.

From January 2019, CIFOR effectively merged with the International Centre for Research in Agroforestry (ICRAF also known as World Agroforestry) which means having a common Board, and actively working towards a single leadership team and unified policies, processes and systems whilst maintaining their legal personalities.

The Common Board of Trustees has been appointed comprising of members that have diverse skills in areas such as forestry and agroforestry science, natural resources management, audit, finance and risk management, policy and governance.

The Common Board of Trustees’ primary mandate is providing governance oversight in ensuring CIFOR, ICRAF and the CIFOR-ICRAF effective merger function to the highest standard to execute their mission. In order to do this effectively, the Common Board of Trustees has delegated the day-to-day management of the Centres to the Directors General who are assisted by senior managements teams that are actively working towards a single leadership team and unified policies, processes and systems.

The Common Board of Trustees is made up of the following members:

Agus Justianto CIFOR Ex-Officio Government of Indonesia Representative
Robert Nasi CIFOR Ex-Officio Director General
Hamadi Iddi Boga Active Observer - ICRAF Ex-Officio Government of Kenya Representative
Tony Simons Active Observer - ICRAF Ex-Officio Director General

CIFOR website usability survey

We're conducting research on our website and we'd love to hear from you about your experience on This will help us make improvements and prioritize new features. The survey should only take 5 minutes, and your responses are completely anonymous.

If you have any questions about the survey, please email us:

We really appreciate your input!

Start survey
I don’t want to participate
Remind me later